top of page

Sacred Heart Parish

Roman Catholic


1840's: Jesuit Missionaries visit Fort Thompson (predecessor to Kamloops) and provide baptisms. Father Modeste Demers (in 1842). Father Pierre-Jean De Smet accompanied by Father John Nobili (in 1845-46). Father John Nobili returned in 1846. These missionaries didn't maintain a presence.

1844: Small log cabin constructed near Secwepemc village (would later become St Joseph's Church)

1845: St Louis Mission established (now Mission Flats), without a resident priest.

1867: First permanent missionary (Oblates of Mary Immaculate - OMI). Not long after his arrival, the Jesuit log cabin church site was built as St Joseph's Church.

1880: St Louis School established at St Louis Mission by Sisters of St Ann (would move a couple of times and become St Ann's Academy).

1887: Sacred Heart Catholic Church built on Battle and 2nd (near present day Cenotaph).

11 December 1887: Church opens and First Mass celebrated. Officiated by Father Le Jeune.

1889: Father Bedard assigned as first parish priest.

1893: Oblates charged with running “Kamloops Industrial School”. Indian Residential School established.

17 March 1912: Knights of Columbus Kamloops Council formed to serve the Church.

1919: Sacred Heart Catholic Church destroyed by fire.

1919-1925: Congregation met at St Ann's Academy and other community halls.

December 1925: New building opened at 255 Nicola St.

1927: Catholic Women's League established.

December 1945: Diocese of Kamloops formed - Roman Catholic Diocese of Kamloops (RCDK)

March 1946: First Bishop of Kamloops named. Sacred Heart Catholic Church elevated to the status of Cathedral.

1962: OLPH school established.

1963: St Ann's named as a parochial school of Sacred Heart Cathedral.

1979: Parishioners from Valleyview, Barnhartvale, and Dallas begin attending Holy Family Church.

Meeting Places

1844-1887: St. Joseph's Church

1880-1887: St. Anne's Convent, two miles west of Kamloops

1887-1919: Battle Street and Second Avenue

1919-1925: St Anne's Convent (at present location)

1925-Present: 255 Nicola Street

Leadership History

1867: Father Florimonde Gendre (OMI)

1871: Father Charles Grandidier (OMI)

1880: Father Jean-Marie Lejacq (OMI)

1889: Father J. A. Bedard (OMI)

1946: Father Jean-Marie-Raphaël Le Jeune (OMI)

1946-1952: Bishop Edward Quentin Jennings

1952-1973: Bishop Michael Alphonsus Harrington

1974-1982: Bishop Adam Exner

1982-1999: Bishop Lawrence Sabitini

1999-2002: Father Jeremiah (Jerry) Desmond

2002: Bishop David Monroe

Present: Bishop Joseph P. Nguyen

Congregation Website

Meeting Times

Mass Times occur throughout the week. Currently:

Sunday 8:30am, 11:30am, 6pm

Monday 7pm

Tuesday 7pm

Wednesday 9am

Thursday 7am

Friday 7am, 9am

Saturday 7pm

Information Sources 

1887. 'Opening of the RC Church.' The Inland Sentinel. 10 December 1887. A03.

M Ignace and R Igance. 2017. Secwépemc People, Land, and Laws: Yerí7 Re Stsq'ey's-kucw.

Please reach out using the Contact Form if you would are able to correct or share additional information and photos.

bottom of page